Connect with us
Hip Hop Vibe
Album Preview: Lil Wayne – “Tha Carter IV”

Album Preview

Album Preview: Lil Wayne – “Tha Carter IV”

By The Voice
Hip Hop Vibe Staff Writer

There has been talk of Tha Carter IV almost immediately following the release of Tha Carter III. Lil Wayne said he wanted to release an experimental album following his triple platinum success. This album would become Rebirth, but was preceeded by his collaboration album introducing Young Money.

Tha Carter IV was initially intended to be released in 2009, but was pushed back until 2010. However, Lil Wayne had to serve a prison sentence in 2010. To hold fans over, Wayne instead delivered with another album, I Am Not a Human Being. The album featured tracks originally intended to be a part of Tha Carter IV.

Towards the end of 2010, fans received their first glimpse of Tha Carter IV with the first single, “6 Foot 7 Foot.” The song marked the end of the feud between Lil Wayne and Bangladesh and was dubbed “A Milli” on steroids. “6 Foot 7 Foot” became the first true hit of 2011 and showed off Lil Wayne and Cory Gunz’ lyrical ability. Even when the second single, “John (If I Die Today)” with Rick Ross, was released and became a hit, “6 Foot 7 Foot” was still dominating the radio.

If the first three singles, “6 Foot 7 Foot,” “John (If I Die Today),” and “How to Love,” are any indication, listeners are in store for one of the most-creative albums of the past few years.nbsp;Already, there is an incredible mix of different genres placed onto one hip hop album. On each of the songs presented, Lil Wayne displays his lyrical prowess and creative abilities. Upcoming singles from the album will be the Drake-assisted single, “She Will.”

Track listing

1. “Intro”
2. “Blunt Blowin”
3. “MegaMan”
4. “6 Foot 7 Foot” (ft. Cory Gunz)
5. “Nightmares Of The Bottom”
6. “She Will” (ft. Drake)
7. “How To Hate” (ft. T-Pain)
8. “Interlude” (ft. Tech N9ne)
9. “John” (ft. Rick Ross)
10. “Abortion”
11. “So Special” (ft. John Legend)
12. “How To Love”
13. “President Carter”
14. “It’s Good” (ft. Drake and Jadakiss)
15. “Outro” (ft. Bun B, Nas, Shyne, and Busta Rhymes)

More in Album Preview

About Hip Hop Vibe
To Top
%d bloggers like this: